Asexuality and Queerness

I am a gay female university student, asked by an asexual friend of mine if she could come into the queer lounge (which is open only to queer students, not queer-friendly). I initially said yes I think so, because as I understand it asexuality comes under the queer banner as well, 'queer' being anything that is not strictly hetero-normative. Then she said that she technically identified as straight, but asexual.

Now I know that AVEN says that while asexuality is a "part of the queer movement but individual asexuals may not share queer experience or identify as such", if she still identifies as being straight while still being asexual, does the fact of her asexuality 'qualify' her as such to go into the queer lounge, because it is an aspect of queerness??? Or does her identification as straight then remove the queer connotations... ? Or is it simply up to her to identify as queer or not-queer?

If I sound a little confused it's because I am, I'm sorry if I've inadvertently offended anyone, I haven't really had the time to research more extensively, I've been hurrying because I feel for her and wanted to give her an answer as soon as I could, as she says she feels like she doesn't really 'fit' anywhere on campus.

I considered putting this on a queer forum, but thought I would ask the asexual community for your opinions first, then if directed to, I will post this somewhere queer.

Well, fist of all, hello and welcome, shades.

It seems to me that your friend could anyway benefit of being accepted in your lounge, and since she asked for it...

Also, I don't suppose she has been aggressive about being straight, so I don't think that would be a problem; and being asexual is queer, I think, since this is not falling under the common way of pairing in society.

And I don't think this is much cumulative, so a straight asexual would not be queerer than a gay or bi one.