Asexuality Articles in Good Vibrations

swankivy

So I've been tapped to write some articles about asexuality for Good Vibrations magazine. Yay for visibility.

Here's my first one:

Asexuality is Not Antisexuality: Sex Positivity in a Negative World

I'm pleased with this not only because I get to help contribute to awareness through this venue while targeting one of the groups that MOST needs to hear from us, but also because it is my first writing job that involves compensation, so hooray for being able to say I'm a published author. Yaaaaaaay swankivy.

I'll write on a series of subjects for the magazine; got a few more lined up.

Enjoy!

JJButterworth

That's Nails :cake::cake: . I could not say it better myself. What you said in that artical are exactly my thought on sex, especially the we don't want to be seen as better than you bit.

InkedElephant

excellent point about R-rated movies, violence and sex.

and also about the 'dirty' language we use for sex because of the 'we're-not-supposed-to-like-sex' attitude.

very interesting from a psychological view, too.

overall, bravo!

As aforementioned, nicely done Swan! Nicely done indeed! :cake: I think it is very appropriate for the projected audience in furthering positive understanding and awareness!

Congratulations Swankivy! :cake:

On the topic of the article, I think that it is worth mentioning that while there is something of a sex-negative attitude in the world, I do not think that this can neccessarily be taken at face value, and there are at least aspects of pragmatism behind this. People will always gravitate towards the 'taboo' elements of society. This idea that they're perhaps doing something that they shouldn't be doing adds to the excitement for sexual people, or so I would imagine. It is in many ways a positive part of the sexual culture, rooted in fact in sex-positivity, and for my part I am inclined to let them have their fun in what manner they desire.