another newbie here

Kiuku

Hey guys. I've been reading and posting for a couple days and I have to say you are all great, wonderful people! I'm glad to have found this site. What a great idea this website is and the layout is really nice too, so props to the webmaster; AVENguy you've done a great job here.

It is a great thing for me to be able to participate in the forward movement of the asexual community, having been asexual my whole life. I know what it's like to be without support and let me tell you what a relief it is to see like-minded people gathering together with the same agenda in mind: promoting awareness of asexuality.

There was a time when I thought people were exaggerating and dramatic in their sexual actions and their lusts for eachother. I truly believed that these desires and emotions did not at all exist but was only a product of mass media brainwashing; that lust was an idea that only existed in the intellect and that people's lives must have really been empty if genital pleasure was a driving force and was able to fulfill them in the manner they portrayed. After a while I began to realize, through my own discussions with people about my sexuality (or lack thereof) and theirs, that there was more to the sexual mind than just their genital stimulations and there I realized my own differences and, therefore, faulty assumptions.

I think this is exactly what happens when something is unimaginable and I think that is what is going on with sexual people when they think of asexuality. It is something unimaginable to them, so we become the broken products of orthodox religion, bad parenting, or abuse. It isn't until they listen to us and we gain more awareness that there will be understanding..or atleast acceptance.

So this is a truly great thing you are all doing here. Keep up the good work. I hope to see more of your thoughts in the days to come. :)

yours on the road to acceptance,

Kiuku

VivreEstEsperer