Making your own meals vs eating out/getting takeout

swirl_of_blue

Do you cook most of your meals?  

87 members have voted

1. 1. Do you buy your food ready-to-eat, or do you cook your own meals?

• I almost never cook - I eat my meals at a cafeteria, restaurant, diner etc or grab takeout.
    • I don't really cook myself, but I do get microwave meals or other things that I simply need to heat up, or at the most just something I need to add hot water into.
    • I cook, but not the whole meal: I might make my mashed potatoes from scratch, but get the meatballs from the store.
    • I make most of my meals myself, but do use marinated meats, ready-made sauces and other things to speed up cooking.
    • I tend to make everything from scratch, only buying the ingredients. Fresh, if possible!
  2. 2. If you do very little cooking, what is the reason for that? Or even if you do cook yourself, what are the reasons you sometimes buy something ready-to-eat?

• I'm a bad cook or lack ideas of what to make.
    • Eating food someone else has made is quicker and easier, so why would I cook myself?
    • Getting quality ingredients is too expensive or the stores don't have a good selection of the things I would like to buy.
    • I've never even considered doing much of my own cooking - it's simply not something I was brought up to do.
    • I would like to cook more, but I don't have the time.
    • I actually never buy any ready-made food, or do it extremely rarely.
  3. 3. Did/do your parents often cook at home?

• Most of the days, so I grew up with homecooked food.
    • Sometimes yes, sometimes no. It really depended on how busy my parents were/are.
    • Almost never - takeout or eating out was/is everyday for us.

This poll is closed to new votes

swirl_of_blue

To cook or not to cook?