Insurance? Transitioning? Agender? What?

-Lex-

So is there any way insurance will pay for top surgery or T if I'm not *technically* a *normal* transgender person.  So I don't know if it would be considered sex-reassignment surgery if it was not to change to the *other* sex but to just get rid of my female parts and look more... gender nuetral I guess?  (I'm trying to think of how insurance companies would word stuff like this.)  I'm a broke college student and I'm going to be in school for seven more years, but I don't know if I can live much longer feeling like my body is wrong and gross.

Does anyone know anything about any of this?  Like at all?  I'm currently in the US and I have QualChoice paid for by Medicaid.

If your insurance covers transition, then all you need is a diagnosis of gender dysphoria and a therapist letter explicitly saying that top surgery is medically necessary for the treatment of said dysphoria. You will definitely need to talk directly with your insurance providers to figure out what transition care they cover though.

That said, not all top surgeons take insurance, and the red tape surrounding the reimbursement process can be quite frustrating to sort through. I'm 7 months post op and still haven't gotten properly reimbursed for my surgery even though I had approved pre-clearance for insurance coverage. (Granted, this is partly because of complications of being double insured, but be warned that this process can get rather frustrating.)