Prom Problems, or “Promblems” if you will

Toothpaste Fairy

Toothpaste Fairy

So I’m in my last year of high school and prom is a thing that is happening for me this year. I don’t really know if I want to go for a multitude of reasons, all boiling down to prom being for the type of person I’m not. Firstly, the preparation for it is a lot. I’m someone who’s too lazy to do anything other than brush my hair for a morning beauty routine, and my mother has to force me to wear any sort of makeup, having to find a dress and get my hair and makeup done would be a monumental effort. Secondly, people drink and stuff before and after and that’s also not a thing I do, so that just makes me a little nervous, although I have a pretty good friend group who probably wouldn’t pressure me to do anything like that if I didn’t want to. Lastly and probably most importantly I don’t want to be awkwardly alone during prom. I know my friends are going and they want me to go too, but I don’t know if they plan on having dates and I really don’t want to be the only one without a one, because although I’m not opposed to going with someone as a “date”, I’m not going to be actively seeking anyone out for that reason, so I probably wouldn’t have one. Do you need a date to go to prom? My mother told me that you used to but things might be different now.  Needing a date sort of feels unfair to be honest, both to any single pringles and people who aren’t into romance.