I’m shy, but hi 🤙

Kate19

Hey my name is Kate

I’m studying music in college (specifically commercial music in the jazz studies track). I’m 19 and I live with my parents and siblings.

I didn’t come to terms with my asexuality for a while because every time the idea came into my view, something pushed it away. When I was 16, I was telling my friend about an uncomfortable sexual experience, and he said I might have been a lesbian. (Which he’d already been suspicious of because I’d never wanted to date him.) This was the first time I ever really thought about my sexuality. I’d always assumed I was straight because I’d had crushes on boys when I was younger (though looking back, I realize I had crushes on girls too), but I decided I wasn’t really attracted to girls either. So I told my parents. 

“I don’t like boys.”

”Do you like girls?” My dad asked.

”Not really.”

”That’s fine, it’s probably just a phase.”

So I assumed it was. A yearish later, I met this boy and realized I wasn’t repulsed by the idea of kissing him, so I assumed the phase was over and I was officially straight. But around my 3rd or 4th boyfriend, I realized that the way I felt about them and the way they felt about me were completely different. My last boyfriend once said something along the lines of “I could never date an asexual. I want the girl I’m with to ‘want’ me.” (This was just after I took the Kinsey test and got ‘not sexual’.) So I pretended that I was attracted to him, but began harboring feelings of guilt because I knew that he would be heartbroken if he found out that I didn’t feel the same way about him. (He was somewhat of a horndog.) We broke up because of something unrelated, but sometimes, I still feel like I could never date someone (at least someone sexually attracted to me) again because I’d never be able to feel the same way about them. I guess I feel like I “owe” something to my potential significant other, even though I know deep down that my feelings are valid.