Whats your story?

hmini2000

I am genuinely interested in how you guys found out you were Asexual. So whats your story? Short and sweet? Long and complicated? How'd it happen? 

Me. I was a freshman in high school, scared and new to this world of teenagers. Luckily I had my friend Maggie who was a senior and already knew the ways of this strange land. So one day while riding the bus home with her she suggested I should come to a GSA meeting with her next Monday after school,( I was hesitant till she told me there was food!) Well to kick things off they started talking about what types of sexualities there are. Gay, Bi, Pan, etc, but one came up that really peaked my interest. Asexual. I was surprised it was a thing because I've been told one way or another you had to like someone boy or girl. Now I hear there's another option and you don't have to like anyone, and that's okay. To sum things up I spent the next few months really contemplating it and talking to Maggie and a few other friends till I decided that "Yeah, I'm an Asexual." It kinda took me a while to accept it too. I think I knew it from a fairly early age that I just didn't want all that stuff I was supposed to want once I hit middle school. Once I found out there was a name for it I was equally terrified and at peace. Terrified because my family always taught me things like 'You're not special or different, your job is to contribute to society and be normal'. None the less though, here I am. 

For me, it was when I got into my first year of high school. I thought that I liked people, but apparently what I felt was aesthetic and platonic attraction rather than sexual or romantic attraction. Thanks to YouTube, I found out about asexuality!