Is touch really that important?

Galactic Turtle

Galactic Turtle

Hello humans. ^_^

There was a thread somewhere on here a while ago that was asking if it's possible to be romantic or in a romantic relationship while also withholding touch or being touch averse/repulsed. I responded yes, I think it is, because I thought of romantic love as a feeling that has nothing to do with touch or the want or need to touch however it doesn't seem like this opinion is a very common one. The closest thing I've felt in terms of positioning myself for a romantic relationship spurred no desire for physical contact on my end. In fact that person respecting my space when I said I didn't like being touched I think was the catalyst for me even being able to entertain those types of feelings even if they were only respected for a short amount of time.

Beyond romantic relationships which I have no experience in, I also have found myself wondering about touch in friendships. I have had one lifelong friend, someone who I get along with very well (we even shared a closet sized studio apartment one summer in New York without annoying each other even once) yet I always notice the difference in the way she treats me versus her other friends. On Facebook I see her upload pictures of her being hugged or piggybacked or various other positions that involve lots of physical contact with her other friends. I couldn't help but wonder if even after all of these years she might feel more distant from me because touch is something I reject. Another friend of mine who I'm also quite close to suddenly bear hugged me when she was about to leave to go to the airport to go to Taiwan where she'd be living for the foreseeable future. I panicked, felt immediately repulsed, and pushed her away so hard she fell to the ground. I know I hurt her feelings because for the next three weeks she didn't contact me at all. I started wondering if touch is really that important in friendships too?