Gutted :(

And all shall be well

And all shall be well

Hi,

I’m a relative newbie, Been floating around for awhile...still not sure yet if I identifiy as asexual, but a lot of what I’ve been reading seems to fit with my experiences and feelings...it’s been reassuring the past few weeks to find out I’m not broken or immature...just indifferent!

Anyway, I thought I’d take the opportunity to get some support as I’ve been struggling a wee bit. I’m a 34 year old female, been with my partner for 8 years. If I am asexual, I’m definitely heteroromantic...Hopelessly romantic in fact. I think I fall in love, form crushes and infatuations etc, far too easily, but I’ve only just realised this isn’t based on sexual attraction.

Both me and my partner have realised I’m probably asexual lately. We love each other deeply, but he’s most definitely sexual, to the point he feels he has to let our relationship go as a couple. He thinks we have and always will have a unique and special relationship. While I don’t want to have sex with him (or anyone else), the thought of someone elese being his partner and sexual partner is heart-breaking,

For him, the fact I don’t get why the sexual dimension to a relationship is essential suggests I’m asexual, and he’s not prepared to live a sexless life. The fact I don’t get why he prioritises sex over love makes me pessimistic about relationships and slightly angry at him. I just don’t get it. If he loves me as much as he says he does, why is he prepared to let me go just so he can get his end away? He doesn’t even want kids. He’s already had a vasectomy. So it really is all about pleasure. I don’t want kids either though. I kind of get why people see sex as part of human existence in an abstract sort of way, similar to modern art...!? But i wouldn’t give up a soulmate, even for a glimpse of some masterpiece.

Thanks for reading.

TheSmokingSkellie