Aromantic Love

lunarmorgan

I am new to the AVEN forums despite having frequently visited here over the past few years. I can't remember my old account for the life of me, but I don't think I did anything but sign up for notifications... No worries. Anyways, I have come into a little bit of a predicament: confirming my aromanticism (is that a word?).

Here's a bit of background. I've identified as asexual for at least three years or so (since I was 14), and I was recently in my first, "official" relationship. It lasted 8 months and began before I started identifying as aromantic (I came to the conclusion I was on the spectrum a month after the break up). The whole asexuality deal went over well, and I genuinely loved him -- but not in a way that screamed romance to me. It was different than friend love, but I think that was only because I trusted him on a much deeper level and felt comfortable with the idea of having a life with him. Despite this, there was always something that seemed lacking on my part. He told me he thought I just didn't know how "to express love normally." Although this is true, I had a gut feeling it was deeper than that. Now, I'm an artist, and my first assumption was that because he wasn't my muse I was unable to attach a deeper connection to him. That was one of the things, looking back, that should have been a major sign for me pointing me in the aromantic direction.