What Am I? (A Rant About Sex and Culture)

Elizabeth I

Elizabeth I

Although this question has been well covered in other forums at AVEN, I thought it a particularly good question to ask among folks who have been around a while.

Although I have been calling myself "asexual" for about 30 years... I am certain that there are a good many who would debate the issue with me because I am attracted to (some) men, and have willingly taken part in sexual behaviour.

I have a theory about sex and the "drive" that facilitates it. I think that the primary purpose of sex is reproduction, and an actual "sex drive" is a biological signal that an individual is (physically)a good candidate for breeding!

Although this notion may not seem terribly controversial at first, lots of folks will disagree because of the wide variety of deviation in behaviour that is called "sexual behaviour". I am referring specifficially to behaviour that has nothing to do with breeding.

There are lots of things that I consider perverse that are widely accepted socially, and also (not surprisingly) a great many things I consider normal that are not socially accepted by our culture.

For one....I feel that its NORMAL for folks who have reached an age where breeding is NOT a good idea, to have a diminished sex drive, or not have a sex drive at all. In the sex-saturated social environment I grew up in, this is considered a weakness and a sure sign of declining physical or emotional health.

Men are encouraged to pump their ageing bodies full of hazardous recreational drugs to facillitate large erections for what? Breeding with their mostly dis-interested middle-aged wives? Or making fools of themselves chasing theirs daughter's friends around the swimming pool?

(Cool man...If I **** your Dad, he will probably BUY me MY OWN swiming pool)

Is this really about reproducing? NO!