How did you know?

Hi everyone, I am new to this and still trying to figure stuff out. I was just wondering how people knew what sexuality they were and if they were asexual or aromatic? Thanks 

Digs_Dead_People

I never really didn't know, I just never had a word for it and I just assumed that I was a broken individual with no sexual attraction.  I was around 20 or so when I learned the word "asexual" and I was like "Oh, that fits."

Before realizing I was Asexual, I always just assumed I would have sex someday since "everyone has it". Even though I had never heard of asexuality, I never felt any sort of sexual attraction. I finally started thinking about my sexuality after watching a YouTube video about being asexual. It seemed to actually describe me really well, so I started looking into it more and I realized I was asexual pretty quickly.

I just kind of realized I don't feel any sexual attraction to anyone.

AwkwardAxolotl

I think I've always known that I was asexual, I just didn't have the right words to describe myself until I stumbled across AVEN. Before that, I called myself bisexual, just not very good at being bisexual, which in retrospect makes no sense whatsoever (how can you be bad at your own sexuality), but that was the most accurate I could be given the vocabulary I had to work with.

MiraMeyneth

I was 15 and I overheard stories of people losing their virginity, even a few people I know had lost theirs. I think I felt confusion on why people would want to have sex in the first place. I think I complained about it to my sister who mentioned asexuality, and I liked the label. Still haven't felt anything since (I'm 17 now and pretty much finishing up puberty) so I'd say it's a pretty reasonable assumption that I'm ace still.