Never wanted a dream wedding or kids

Willgracefan

I recently discovered the term "asexual" and have somewhat accepted that this term relates to me (I'm in my mid-30's why I'm only learning this now, I have no idea) Because of this revelation I've been going through my past and thinking of situations and feelings that I've had that are "asexual-ish) 

A biggie for me was I never planned a dream wedding in my head. I guess I thought I'd get married cause that's what people do but I was never wedding crazy. I also can't remember ever wanting kids. Right before I found asexuality I came to terms that I'd be alone and childless. Maybe never thinking of getting married and not wanting kids was because I was always asexual and something in me knew it. Can anyone related. Do you want kids? I'm not crazy for not wanting them, right?! 

• Like 3

Have you heard of aromantic?  It's the lack of romantic attraction. I never wanted to date or get married I never understood the point honestly. I don't understand what romantic attraction was ever suppose to feel like or how come some people can look another person and just see themselves with them forever. So I really understand where you're coming from on that way. I'm also asexual, sex was never a thing to me. I do want kids though. I hope this helps??? 

• Like 1
Willgracefan

Thanks!  3ryry3 Your response brought up thought that I've always had. While I'm so happy and grateful that my parents are still happy and together I could never understand how two people could be around each other for so long. I'd go crazy! So while I like to think that I was on the romantic scale maybe you're right and I'm aromantic as well. 

• Like 1
5 minutes ago, Willgracefan said: