Mathsy uni major

Emery.

Hi there

I'm up to change university course since autumn. The choice I'm considering is between a computer science course (let's call it CS) and a mathematics course. I've been unable to stick with a major for three years already, so I want a good bet this time! I studied physics and computer science so far. I loved physics. I absolutely loved it. But my view of it was a bit a bit unrealistic and as soon as I experienced it hands-on, I quit. Computer science is less competitive (I feel like you get sooo many people willing and able to pursue physics... supply...) and has more both financial payoff (demand in the market...) and in terms of being able to do things, create and discover (all you need is a brain and a laptop, not a gazillion euro particale accelerator... cost...). Physics seems to be dying too, while new disciplines and ways to do science, such as data mining, emerge. In terms of difficulty - they're similar I'd say. I also lost my interest in physics in favour of more abstract matters.

Of course the more I learn the less I think it's all about formal education... If you rock, you rock. Period. And nobody will do the learning for you. If you want to know something, you'll learn it given the resources, if not - you won't. Universities, by and large, just test you and don't provide you with the material or information what you need to know to pass the tests. Nor do they teach the skills they demand from a graduate. So that's just my general refelction on schooling.