Parental Consent for top surgery

Creatorsarch

Creatorsarch

I have a friend who is about 13 and is looking to get top surgery. Their mother is fine with it but their father isn't. Is there any loophole in which the father doesn't get a say?

Comrade F&F

13? I'm all for someone embracing their gender identity, but isn't 13 just too young for that kind of surgery?

Maybe that is what the father's concern is? 

Grumpy Alien
21 minutes ago, Feys&Florets said:

13? I'm all for someone embracing their gender identity, but isn't 13 just too young for that kind of surgery?

I would think so? I'm not a doctor but I'd think their body still has a lot of room to grow. That's a major surgery for a child that would likely need to re-do it in some years' time.

But if they're married or have partial custody, I don't think there's a loophole, as it's an elective surgery. I'm not a lawyer either. 

Mezzo Forte

Youngest I've ever heard of surgeons willing to perform top surgery is 16 years old with parental consent, and even that is really pushing it. Hell, I just had top surgery five days ago, and because I look kinda young, my anesthesiologist asked my age, and she was really relieved when I said 23. She told me that she's seen way too many kids who weren't really mature enough to really understand what they were getting themselves into so young and it's not good for their psyche. I don't think there's an ideal age to do this kind of procedure, but I do think a certain degree of mental maturity is required to handle this kind of operation, especially if they want any chance at preventing/fighting post-op depression.