belief and knowledge

binary suns

binary suns

hm. so this idea is.. inherently, easy to object to, or to reject, or to dismiss. 

so it is hard to talk about. it's hard to hear, hard to understand, hard to accept, and hard to apply. 

I've tried to ... approach the topic a few times before, but I'm no expert so I've not done a good job. I'm still learning how to understand it fully, and how to apply it well to my life. 

basically.. there is no knowledge at all. no facts, and no truth. 

To explain - All that we have to measure the world we assume is there, is our senses. We touch a wall and we feel it, we look at the wall and we see it - but these sensations are nothing more than an imprecise measuring tool. And when we create the laser precise tools and particle collides and huge telescopes and highly sensitive devices of various kinds - These still remain to be a reflection of what they measure, and further - we only "know" they are reliable because of our sight! We read the information from them. Nothing but perception lies between our understanding we ourselves hold, and the assumed "true world" that is beyond the self. 

And We do also have our thoughts, logic - but the assumption that thought is different from sensation is itself a belief we hold, and in fact the assumption that either our sensations or our thoughts are real are themselves a belief too! 

A common rejection to this is the claim "yes there is reality! get hit by a car and tell me there's no reality!" - this is not what is being claimed, however. Maybe reality is as we believe it is, but maybe it isn't. maybe reality is in a way that we cannot even fathom - maybe reality really is just a dream, or a simulation. but this is not the purpose of this idea.