Why is he behaving like this?

So my sister and this 1 guy were dating.
Well they introduced me to a guy who is only 1 year older then me. Well Im not an expert on spotting flirting, I know I flirt a lot but I can never spot when I do or others, I've known this guy now since a little before New years. Well the second time I met him on New Year's I was with my parents and my parents told me he was flirting and it looked like he may like me. Ultimately I was flattered, I broke it to my mom a year prior that I a-sexual. Most parent's would turn their 'baby girl' and last child away from dating but no, my parent's are different so my mother tells me that I should try and date him because he's nice and cute... well by about February he was at the point that dispite him be a grade higher then me, he would find ways to find me the halls to surprise hug me for anywhere from 5 to about 20 seconds. Well because of the talks and hugs we formed a semi-bond, When this bond started happening he clammed up and stopped talking to me and started avoiding me for about 3 weeks. One day during those three weeks I was tired of it and yelled at him the next time I saw him. While I was yelling at him he had this stupid happy smile. it did annoy me that he was smiling during it  2 days after yelling at him I was at his house because my sister was helping his brother's dog who got ran over, He hugged me twice that day and come tuesday at school he hugged me again. the last time he hugged me it was after 1 hour of english in March and he like snuck up on me before I could go out of the class he hugged me from behind (I'm 4' 10" and a half, it's bad genetics) so you can imagine how awkward it is sometimes. but in these past 2 weeks he sorta stopped and has begun ignoring me and avoiding me again, he said hi to me last thursday but that's all, his brother and my sister just broke up on the morning of last friday and now he'll see me make eye contact get within about 2-3 feet of me before compl