Would you like to know when you are going to die?

Ortac

Would you like to know when you are going to die?  

164 members have voted

1. 1. Would you like to know the day, month and year that you are going to die?

• Yes, absolutely.
    • I think I probably would, but I am not absolutely certain.
    • I really don’t know.
    • I think probably not, but I am not absolutely certain.
    • No, absolutely not.

This poll is closed to new votes

Back when I was a student many years ago, this question came up during a class discussion. There was an almost unanimous consensus among everyone in the lecture theatre that they most definitely would not like to know when they were going to die. Most people didn’t even need any time to think about it; they said no instantly. I got the impression that was because they just found the idea creepy and unpleasant to think about.

My thoughts however were that yes, I would like to know, for two main reasons. Firstly, it would allow me to plan finances with absolute precision. It could be that I am ploughing lots of money into a pension fund which I may never get the benefit of if I die before I retire. Conversely, if I knew that I was going to live a very long time after retirement, I would know that I needed to be putting even more money away into a pension fund whilst I was still working.

Secondly, whilst many people will have periods of illness and deterioration before passing away, there will be many others who die suddenly and unexpectedly, which is extremely sad and upsetting for friends and family members. If someone knew that was going happen to them and when, there would be a chance to say proper goodbyes to friends and family and forward plan accordingly.

Yet when I voiced these thoughts to the other students in the lecture theatre, I got stares suggesting they all thought I was insane! I suppose to use a Star Trek analogy, I was thinking like a Vulcan, they were thinking like humans!

Meh.