Struggles With Asexuality and Doubting Yourself

DesiButters519x

DesiButters519x

Hello!

My name is Mari and I am so happy to have finally joined this site after a year of discovering it. I have gone through a long road of self discover and am still on it. I haven’t really used the term Asexual for me, because as many people around me have said, I have had no real experience with dating or romance to know what I really am. I have let too many comments get to me all my life. So I would do anything to fit in. From a very early age, the only thing I ever had was crushes, but I never felt the need to pursue a romance simply because it was nothing I was really interested in. I just liked looking at a person from afar. It was all I ever needed to be happy. I never understood what was so awesome about romances and dating and sex. I like reading about it, I like movies here and there and I like even writing about it, but that’s about it. I was never a girl who needed it for her self. When I was 15, I had my first boyfriend. Literally out of curiosity I dated him, but I was so repulsed when he kissed me, and I wasn’t too fond of his affections. I had this boyfriend to also get someone else out of my mind. An older man that I felt I had feelings for. We had a wonderful relationship. It was so nice whenever I would hang out with him, the conversations I had with him were the best thing ever to me, and simply the very mention of his name would light up my world. I met this older man when I was 14, well I SAW him for the first time, I didn’t talk to him until I was 15, but from the moment I saw him, he was special to me. I knew nothing could ever happen between us, but I was just happy knowing he liked me too and that I had a chance to hang out with him. He was respectful and nothing but a beautiful friendship was formed there. As for the boyfriend, I only dated him for a month, and broke up with him because I felt nothing for him nor did I like being in a relationship. So two