Should asexuals be included in LGBT communities?

Spatulace

Hey guys. 

I'm a student at Huddersfield University in the UK, and I'm putting together a podcast that aims to begin to answer the question; Should asexuals be included in LGBT communities?

As an asexual person myself, I haven't always exactly felt comfortable in LGBT spaces. The debate forces me to consider a lot of different questions, but I want to know your opinions. 

I already have a few people to chat to who say that we should be included, so I'm looking for some people to balance this argument. 

If you want to chat about this, please contact me at u1566709@unimail.hud.ac.uk , and we can sort something out. 

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

Thanks.

AVEN #1 fan

Well... we all face discriminations for not being heterosexual heteroromantics.

What I find ridiculous bc even animals are ace, aro, auto, gay and bi.

This question pops up a lot.

I haven't been too involved with lgbt spaces/communities myself. But considering that the very string of letters don't all represent things that have to do with sexuality, I say yes. But it's really up to the individual if they want to be part of it or not. 

The short answer is "yes, if they experience same gender attraction on some level or are trans." People who benefit from both cisgender and hetero privilege have zero place in a community that's for same gender attracted and trans people. When I see people saying it's up to the individual whether or not they identify as LGBT, that speaks volumes to me, because that means they can essentially opt in or out of privilege if they ~feel like it~, whereas people who are actually LGBT do not have that option.

No, at least not in the foreseeable future.

For now, asexuality lacks the neccessary credibility - which, to a big part, is the fault of online asexual communities themselves. And from what I'm seeing, it's getting worse, not better.

11 minutes ago, The Bard said: