Confusing combo of being bi and demi

loulou79

After years of soulsearching and trying to find myself I've finally been able to identify as a demi-bisexual. Finding my label has somehow made me feel stronger and at least in some part, I've been able to shake of some of my insecurities. I'm not in a relationship, nor have I ever been, but being able to admit myself what I prefer has made me feel so much happier about myself.

I'm currently in therapy to deal with my severe anxiety issues, and having recently found my label, I really needed to talk about my sexuality with my therapist, something that I've never done before. I was finally able to bring the subject up on my session, and saying these things aloud felt good. The problem was, however, that my therapist, who isn't a sexual therapist but has dealt with issues about sexuality before to some extent, was pretty much unable to grasp the concept of demisexuality. I tried explaining what it means to her, but she understood it the way so many others do, as something perfectly common and normal. I'm not saying it isn't common, it probably is, but I was unable to explain the fact that most times sex is insignificant to me and I'm pretty asexual for the most part - and then, when the sexual me comes up, I suddenly turn into this horny thing and become attracted to a person I never thought of in a sexual way before.