Sexual boyfriend embarassed by me

JessicaFaye

I've recently realised that I'm asexual, im still learning about all the terms and different types of asexuality so forgive my ignorance on all of this. 

Im a 25y/o asexual female, in a relationship with a sexual male. When I finally worked out that what I felt towarda sex was not abnormal, had a name and an explanation I was relieved and scared at the same time. I'd given 6 years of my life to a man and promised the rest of my life with him as a sexual partner, how would he take it.  

I told him, and he didnt believe it at first, didnt understand it really. But after some deep and upsetting conversations,  he accepted it and even agreed that he thinks the orientation fits. He was amazingly supportive, but there was just one thing he said that niggled me. 

He asked me not to tell anyone, eapecially our friends. He doesnt want them to know about our sex life. he said its nothing like being homosexual, because thats just stating who you're attracted to not weather you're having sex or not. 

I keep going back and forth with how I feel about this. one minute I understand and think fair enough, its no ones business. The next minute I think why cant I? I feel more free and liberated since the realisation of my asexuality than I ever have in my life, so sometimes I just want to shout it out to people! 

I just wondered how other peoples partners or other people in general have been about this? 

Am I being dramatic or unfair? He was so brilliant when I was working through it, I feel bad for wanting to tell people. 

Why would  you tell people?   That's an honest question -- I'm wondering whether you think it is everyone's right to know  whether you are having sex or not.