Is it "too late"?

AceInDaBlackHole

AceInDaBlackHole

I'm just beginning to wrap my mind around what I've always known, that I'm asexual.

I'm fast approaching my mid-50's and as I'm doing this, I'm overwhelmed by the multitude of things I'm consequentially realizing I missed out on, throughout my life.

I'm the type of person that either lands on her feet or works to rearrange the shape of the ground beneath her feet and build something new.

Yet, this is so massive an issue, with my memories going all the way back to as early as grade 1, that I'm having questions as to whether or not I discovered my asexuality too late to rebuild my life in a way to make it count but openly this time. I should also say that some of it has to do with having some health problems but, the mental part of it is what I'm talking about.

Has anyone else questioned things in terms of age and the "too late" thing? If so, what do you tell yourself to a) stop feeling overwhelmed and b) prevent depression from it?

I believe "while there's life there's hope" and "it's never too late". Maybe I'm overly optimistic, but I've managed pretty well so far. I'll be 60 next month. Since I discovered asexuality several years ago I have been feeling better about myself. And I also believe that this self-knowledge (and acceptance) means that if I do form relationships (friendships, romances, etc.) they will have a better chance of being successful because I have better ideas of what I want/need, what I can give, etc.

Not sure if I'm expressing this clearly. It's past my bedtime! :lol: