Do Asexual People See Beauty Differently?

Okay, so I'm pretty new to AVEN and I just have SO many questions. Anyway, I thought I'd post about this as it's been annoying me for a while.

How do you distinguish "good-looking" people from "non good-looking" people? What do you define "beauty" as?

When people talk about how "attractive" someone is or allude to the beauty of a celebrity I get really annoyed. Isn't everyone beautiful in their own way? But more than that, if I look at a celebrity that most people consider attractive, I just don't see it. It's not that I think they're ugly or plain or something. I just don't see how they are any more attractive than anyone else. It irks me when people talk about inner beauty and that "it doesn't matter if you're ugly on the outside, as long as you have a nice personality". Like, who are you to say that person is unattractive? Who are you to judge their "beauty" or lack of when it is so subjective?

So how do you define beauty? Do you see people as pretty or ugly? I'm just curious as to whether asexual people view beauty differently than non-asexuals and if my view on beauty is really just weird.

Personally I find most people vaguely unattractive (including myself) :unsure: but I also find both stereotypical masculinity and femininity very unattractive.

I've thought about this and I think I tend to find people attractive only if I feel they "look friendly". I have wondered if this could be the result of past bullying.

I'm not sure. I don't really think about it. There's obviously some subconscious judging of appearance going on in everyone's brain, but that's just an instinctual thing to gauge if there's any danger. (e.g. when you find someone 'creepy'.) Being aware of that helps me judge people as little as possible on their appearance.