Ace concerns/orientation concerns

Hi everyone!

Newbie here – well a very confused newbie actually. I’ve been dealing with some pretty distressing feelings about my sexuality and orientation of late, and at the grand old age of 33, I have started to look for some answers.

For as long as I can remember, I’ve not been that interested in sexual or romantic relationships. Then again, anxiety and OCD has played a big part in this. I also have a coping mechanism for these problems – something termed ‘maladaptive daydreaming’, which is essentially an excessive use of daydreaming and internal storytelling to cope with challenges and concerns in life. It’s incredibly soothing and almost hypnotic. One thing I have noted is that all my daydreams have included central romantic and sexual themes. But because it’s been a coping mechanism, I fear that has become a substitute for ‘real life’ when it comes to relationships – I never really bothered trying things out for myself.

I have had crushes on both men and women, and a few sexual experiences with men. These did nothing for me – but probably due to my feeling anxious and if I am completely honest, a little pressured. I haven’t had any experience with women, though I am open to this since I think I have also experienced same-sex crushes. Though once again, I’m not sure!

Anyway, while working on my anxiety, and reducing my reliance on the daydreaming, these issues have come to the fore in a truly frightening way. I feel like an empty shell when it comes to any sort of sexual and romantic knowledge or identity. I’m also not one to simply want to get out there and ‘hook-up’ just to work these things out.

But I feel that at 33, I really want to know more about these things. I’m totally cool with being Ace, but can’t even be sure this applies to me. I’m genuinely lost on this!

Any thoughts or advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks :)

Linda