Am I too young ?

Deleted8888

Hey. I'm new to AVEN, I actually just made an account a few minutes ago. I'm 13 years old and I think I am asexual, I asked a few close friends and they said I was just young. Is it possible for a 13 yr old to be ace ??

WinterWanderer

Hi, welcome to AVEN! :cake:

It is possible to figure out you're asexual when you're younger.

Of course, things can change over time, so it could be that you'll realize that you're not later on. But that's okay, and even so, it's okay if you identify as ace for now. :)

I think if I had discovered what asexuality was when I was in high school (gosh, this makes me feel old - I'm 21), I would have known I was ace then. So no, I don't think you're too young!

verily-forsooth-egads

Unfortunately, as far as I can tell, there's no way to know for sure. Plus, AVEN is far from unbiased in terms of anecdotal evidence. Go with your gut for the time being and keep an open mind, that's my advice.

booksaremysexlife

Hi fellow 13 year old!

I don't think that either of us are too young. Even if you end up not being asexual, it is part of the journey that you take. If you want to change your label later, you can :)

Welcome to AVEN!! :cake:

Identify how you like, by all means. But bear in mind that thirteen is young. You may find that asexual is a label that still fits at twenty-five ... however. Honestly, this isn't meant to be patronising, but at thirteen you've got a lot of growing up ahead of you. So don't get so invested in the identity of being asexual that you end up tying yourself in confusing knots if you find, three, four, five years down the line, that you start to feel differently.

Elluna Hellen

You're not too young to identify as whatever you feel is right.

BUT.

13 is very, VERY young and it is definitely possible that it will change for you. Identify as ace if you so wish, but do keep an open mind. :)