Asexuality and Evolution Theories?

odearime

I know not everyone believes in evolution, but I'm curious if anyone has any theories as to how/why asexuality may have evolved. There isn't a lot of research on asexuality, but there are some for homosexuality (http://www.bbc.com/news/magazine-26089486), which is generally thought to be a kind of group care type idea. Perhaps asexuality occurred for similar reasons? Your theories??

(Also, I'm rather new to AVEN, so I hope I've done this correctly. If not, forgive me.)

Anthracite_Impreza

Nothing evolves deliberately, random mutations occur and they either get passed on or they don't. Asexuality doesn't prevent an animal from being successful (ie. it's not a disability/poor camouflage etc.), but it does reduce the chance of its genes being passed on, ergo it occurs as a rare but constant "mutation" in the gene pool.

Yes I'm aware it's likely far more complicated than an "ace gene", but it's late and I can't be arsed with epigenetics.

odearime welcome to AVEN :cake: :cake: :cake:

Asexuality and evolution. Bear in mind that a lack of attraction doesn't mean an inability to procreate, so the idea of bearing offspring whilst asexual is viable. There are a few, and note a few who are asexual because they have a condition which is prejudicial to the long term survival of the species. As you state there is the group care theory which provides an explanation for the hypothesis that the more elder siblings you have the more likely you are to be homosexual/lesbian. But I'm living disproof of that, as a first child who is asexual with a younger sibling who has married and produced a child.

could asexuality be a by-product of humanity having reached a position where we have time fore more than mere survival? Possibly. Is asexuality more prevalent in industrialised societies rather than jungle tribes?