I never felt alienated?

GloomyGhost

Hi, I'm still kinda new to it and still a lot confused.

I'd seen stuff about asexuality before and never really seriously thought it would be me... until I came across it again and when I read something about "being sexually attracted to this and this gender", I stopped and thought "wait... how do I know which gender am I attracted to anyway?", I read the definitions again, cleared up a lot of misconceptions, read some descriptions of what sexual attraction was supposed to be and didn't really know what they were talking about. That made me think I might be asexual after all.

However, I never felt out of place or different than everybody else about this (in many other non-related aspects, yes). Yeah, I decided I was never gonna date (so probably never have sex as well… which never bothered me at all), but it never really striked me that I didn’t fit in. I knew that it was a little unusual, but I felt proud of it. Maybe I felt I was weird (still proud though) about the dating part, but not the sex part. The thought of sex didn’t repulse me, I’ve thought about it a lot and it was entertaining for me (but the more I think about it, the more I believe that in reality it would be a different story – which I now realized is something I didn’t really think about, actually doing it in reality). But I didn’t have a huge lack of interest in the topic. I never really felt confused when sex was mentioned either... I guess I didn't relate, but that's probably because I never had sex. I haven’t had many occasions when I would hear people talk about sex on the other hand.