Need Advice

Barrett

Hi everyone,

So I am a 28 year old asexual in a polyamourous relationship with a bisexual woman in an open marriage. Here is the background. We met at work and hit it off immediately. She’s amazing. I have a good relationship with her spouse. Everything was pretty much smooth sailing until a couple of weeks ago.

So here is my question. Part of the reason that I was open to even letting myself fall in love with a situation that is fantastic, but definitely not/not complicated is because she couldn’t have kids. Her husband and her tried all the medical ways and natural ways for five years and nothing happened. Surprise, surprise, two weeks ago she found out she was pregnant. So that is fantastic news and I am beyond excited for her, not at all the issue.

Here is the issue, I am not good with kids. In addition to being ace, I’m also touch averse so me and kids don’t usually go too well together. They want me to be a co-parent/awesome aunt but I’m scared I’m going to screw it up cause I don’t do well with kids and they usually find me off putting, and once I screw it up, there’s no way our relationship continues. I love this woman. I want to be a part of her life for the rest of both of our lives, but I don’t know what to do moving forward. How do I have this conversation with a super hormonal pregnant woman? Do I wait until after the kid is born and then have the convo? Or do I start that process now? I’m really at a loss.

Do any of you have any suggestions? Books to read about kids? Etc?

nerdperson777

I can just see that you should be honest with her and say that you don't like kids all that much. Perhaps she'll ask for a compromise or something. I think if they're open enough to have an open relationship, they should be open enough to see how you feel and make a reasonable judgment based on it.