How do I not be asexual?

drummergirl600

drummergirl600

I'm sorry but I'm not sure there's any other way to say it - How do I not be asexual? I'm really sorry if this offends anybody, and I know, I should be happy with myself yadda yadda, but I just want a normal relationship.

Some background. I think I might be asexual? I'm pretty new to labels. I'm a 20-yr-old female. I'm a virgin. I masterbate often, but I've never fantasized about anyone I know or have ever met. I've kissed and made out with a lot of boys (and a couple girls), but I hate it. The first few times I did it I had to wash my mouth out for several minutes and thought I was going to be sick. I still kind of have to do that? And the thought of going further definitely makes me nauseous and gives me unbelievable amounts of anxiety. I have guys that I like - a lot - but when anything physical seems like it's going to happen this problem gets in the way and I become disgusted with them and can't hang around them any more.

I really, really don't want to be this way, though. It's not that I dislike asexuals or asexuality! It's just I, personally, want a boyfriend who I can fall in love with. Is there any way for me to at least get over my anxiety? Any advice is really appreciated.

You can't just as much as you can't stop being gay or straight. There's a meetup section on here; look for one in your area or create your own. And there are asexual dating sites too.

Welcome to AVEN! We're not offended by this, drummergirl; a number of people coming to AVEN have indicated how uncomfortable they are with being asexual.

But you are who you are. We can't tell you if you are asexual; all I can say to you is that you shouldn't do anything you don't want to do -- with anyone, even if you really like them. I did for years and I wish I hadn't, although I did (and do) love the two men I was with.