Aromantic but still sexual?

timeofgoats

I've sifted through some of the threads discussing aromantics and it seems like the majority of aromantics are also asexual or something like it(I'm still learning all of the different types). I can say with 75% confidence that I am aromantic, but I also love cuddling and holding hands. I haven't kissed anyone but I enjoy the idea of more sexual relationships. Is there a different orientation for this? And does anyone else feel this way too?

You don't have to be ace to be aro! :) Although it seems to be more common (for some reason?) for aros to be ace as well, I've definitely heard of people being aromantic and sexual. So you're not alone! The two are completely separate orientations :)

Sleepy Skeleton

Aromanticism is much lesser known than asexuality, so I think that's why there doesn't seem to be a lot of aro sexuals. Most of us learn the term after being exposed to asexuality, right?

Anyway, the others are correct. There is no reason why aromantic sexuals can't exist. And they do, I've seen them on this site and others.

It's because this board has mostly asexuals on it. So you are more likely to see any type of asexual here than out in the general population.

I think that most aromantic sexual persons simply confuse sexual and romantic attractions, and therefore don't know that they're aromantic. It's a problem that aromanticism isn't well known outside of the asexual community. I'm pretty sure that being aromantic and sexual is relatively common. At least from the number of people I know IRL who obviously behave and think like aromantic sexual people, I really don't think that it's rare.

From how I see it on other forums for aromantics, its very mixed of asexual, gray-ace and sexual people So I belive there are pretty many sexual aromantics but they are just pretty invisible.