Coming out as Demi to friends?

1linuxwhite1

1linuxwhite1

I apologize if this seems out of place, I am new to AVEN. I have identified as a demisexual for a few years now and I used to have no problem talking about my orientation. However, I feel that I may have to change this outlook after an interaction I had with a friend. Me and my friend were hanging out, watching anime at his apartment. We were discussing various things and the discussion turned towards romance in anime being often unrealistic. He asked me if I liked anyone. I confessed that I, while enjoying the genre, have zero experience with romance, or desire to have a relationship at that moment. I then explained to him what demisexuality means.

A few weeks later he asked to go out with me. I tried to turn him down nicely, but things are now awkward between us. The only thing I felt that I did to make him believe I wanted to go out with anyone was describing demisexual to him and providing an example of strong emotion connection as close friends. I believe that is the reason why he believed I wanted to go out with him. I have tried to think back on our relationship and I keep wondering if I unknowingly flirted with him, told him I wanted a romantic relationship, or anything else.

I am now unsure if I should continue being as open about my sexuality to my friends, even if it may result in awkward situations, or if I should stay "in the closet" and try not to make them think I am interested in them. It is hard for me to know what to do. I have no one I feel comfortable talking to about my sexuality in real life and this problem is rooted in it. I wanted to know how other people that are demisexual deal with this.

Do you know factually that you're demisexual?

1linuxwhite1