How to design an asexual character?

shadowstrategist

shadowstrategist
Hey!

I’m a grad student working on a thesis about character design, specifically with characters on the asexual spectrum. So an open question!

How would you design a character if the only requirement was that they were ace? (for consistency, I’m going for modern day, no superpowers)?

Edit: I'm looking into if there's any bias or trends in how a character is designed (such as making the character an outcast because ace is often invisible), especially compared to how ace characters are usually represented in media.

Their description can be as detailed as you want, or if anyone wants specifics here’s a basic laundry list.

Role they would have in a story: Hero/villain/love interest/ etc.

Appearance

Height

Weight

Physique

Hair

Skin/Ethnicity

Weapons/accessories

Clothes/Fashion

Personality

Attitude (Cocky, shy, flirty, etc)

Motivations

Weaknesses/flaws

Strengths

Fears

What makes them mad

What makes them happy

Job if they have one

Skills

Even the most basic design info helps!

EmotionalAndroid

Hi there!

I roleplay a lot and make up new characters for almost every roleplay. Every single RP character I have ever had, including those I had before I knew about asexuality, has been asexual. Therefore, I do not have a particular set of attributes he/she must have. Being asexual is just a very small, insignificant factor in their overall identity. After all, I feel that we are the same as everyone else, we just don't care about certain things. Other attributes, personalities traits, appearances, etc are not tied to the orientation.

If it would be helpful, I'd be happy to post some info about some of my past characters, especially those whose orientation is a bit more significant to their identity.

nerdperson777