Genderfluid and so very confused

Khale_Carter

Khale_Carter

So I'm Genderfluid. I've known this for awhile. Yet this is the first time I've had the male side of me be this strong. For awhile I was actually thinking I might be transgender because it was so strong. The problem I'm having is this, I'm a substitute teacher at a junior high here in texas (7th and 8th grade) and I'm in the male end of spectrum right now and these changed take months to take place. So I'll change every few months or longer (yes I know everyone is different) so what do I do when I go back to work in August? I'm wanting to be called Mr. And not Ms... And so do I let them know? And if I let them know what happens if I begin to switch genders? I have a system of wearing either a bracelet or a necklace that says she or he or they on it that way my friends know...do I use that same system and just had color with it? Or.. Do I not tell them...I have such a hard time thinking about being called Ms when right now I'm not a ms...Idk what to do. I'm so scared. And so worried...

joshuaSunshine

I wouldn't stress and just see how you feel in early August. From reading what you wrote, I gather you go back and forth; so maybe you'll, for lack of better word, switch before school is back in session. You could be a hip teacher and have them call by your first name without any prefix.

nerdperson777

There's also the neutral Mx prefix. If you really want your students to know you personally, do whatever you think is right. Though if word gets out to the other teachers, there might be some explaining to do.

Do you feel comfortable being out about your gender identity? Coming from another genderfluid person, the system with the bracelet/necklace is genius. I'm sure your students would be able to catch on with no problems at all.