I'm almost 30, help me figure myself out... Maybe?

prairiemama

Help me out, because I'm sick of not really "knowing".

I fall under the asexual umbrella, pretty much.

I'm a woman, been married to my husband for 10 years. He's the only person I've been with.

I do not consider myself straight, however. This I know.

I feel some attraction to both male and female. But nothing major. "Oh he's cute" "Oh she's cute"..

Not sure I'd ever be in a female relationship though, if I was to start dating again. I have no experience with this, so it's also just a "not knowing" kind of thing.

I don't enjoy sex as a general rule (it's not my husband, this has taken me a long time to decipher, since he's the only person I've been with. I truly just don't like sex. This is how I've felt my whole life. I had no desire as a teen. I didn't start dating until I literally met my husband, we developed a strong emotional bond. I adore him, he is my soul mate).

I don't think about sex if ever. But when I've thought about it, I generally think "yeah I'd have sex with a woman". No questions asked there really. To me it's exactly the same level as having sex with a man. But when I consider a romantic relationship with a woman? Not sure if I would. This is where I considered demisexuality into play, because I NEED that emotional connection to form any sort of remote sexual bond with someone. I know demi falls under the asexual umbrella.

So... what? I think I'm even more confused than before I started writing this.

Maybe I'll never know. Maybe I'll never truly identify with anything.

Akira Jumps

Hello and welcome to AVEN, prairiemama!

Sounds to me that several different types of attraction are at play here.

Aesthetic attraction: It sounds as if you are attracted to both males and females. But this is the same as saying 'Oh, that painting is pretty.' There is no sexual or romantic attraction/urges along with it.