Being called straight as a herteroromantic

mspiral

So I'm relatively new to identifying as asexual and I was curious how other heteroromantics feel when/if people that they have come out to just slap the label straight on you. (This can also apply to all the other romantic orientations too.)

Personally, I feel like part of me doesn't really have any right to be upset because technically part of me is, what people view as, straight. On the other hand, it feels like by calling me straight they attempt to hide or erase the asexual part of me and even though I know that they are fine with my asexuality it still bothers me. Plus the word straight in society is so closely related to the idea of sex that it makes me uncomfortable.

If it was just random people on the street assuming that I'm straight I wouldn't really bother me, it's more of the fact that they are close friends of mine that I'm out to who still call me straight no matter how I try and explain why it bothers me.

Basically I guess what I want to know is if I'm just being silly and making a deal out of nothing. Also I want to know if anybody else has had any similar experiences and how it made them feel.

Any who mini rant thing over.

Yeah, I keep wondering about this as well. I think I'm in essence attracted to guys (heteroromantic), so I just function in society as "straight." But then people assault me with questions and I feel like I'm lying/keeping a secret when I don't disclose the -possibly/probably- asexual bit. I suppose that's technically true...but idk. I don't feel like that's something you just go up and tell people -- hey, I'm not sexually attracted to people, simply because sex doesn't normally come up with casual acquaintances, even if boyfriend/girlfriend stuff comes up. At least with the people I run with anyways.

I don't accept the term straight when comparing my relationship to the majority of society.