Article about Asexuality and Academic Studies on Stanford Website

snowleopard12

snowleopard12

I'm a high school student and I like to have unrealistic dreams, so today I was looking at the Stanford website. On their main page they had a link to this article:

http://news.stanford.edu/news/2015/february/asexuality-studies-scholar-022315.html

I think it's pretty great, and I'm glad we've got people like Dr. Cerankowski advancing asexuality as a respected field of academic study. The more people know about us and view asexuality as a valid sexual orientation, the more acceptance I think we'll have, and the easier it will be for all people on the asexual spectrum who are realizing who they are and coming out.

Stanford Report, February 23, 2015
Stanford scholar blazes pathway for academic study of asexuality
Drawing from her research into the growth of asexual communities and queer studies, Stanford lecturer Karli Cerankowski is shedding light on an under-studied and misunderstood facet of human sexuality: asexuality.

BY LEAH STARK

When confronted with the notion of asexuality, most people are baffled by the idea of a life devoid of sexual attraction.

14867-asexuality_news.jpg
Asexual marchers at World Pride Parade Toronto 2014. Stanford lecturer Karli Cerankowski's work has helped make asexuality studies a recognizable academic discipline.

But that's rapidly changing, in society and in academia, thanks in part to Stanford scholarKarli Cerankowski. A lecturer in Stanford'sProgram in Writing and Rhetoric, Cerankowski's research and activism has made strides toward designating asexuality as an academic discipline.

Cerankowski, who received her PhD from Stanford's Program in Modern Thought and Literature last year, emphasizes social discourse and de-pathologization of sexual orientation.