Advice on coming to terms with asexuality?

Perfectly Pointless

Perfectly Pointless

This is my first time trying to explain how I feel, so forgive me if I'm not very good at phrasing certain emotions or thoughts. A few weeks ago I saw one of my internet friends talking about something called 'asexuality' and being the curious person I am, I did some research. Whilst reading a few articles about it, I felt quite strange. I felt like I could relate to these people talking about their experiences, and I was able to grasp the concept of not experiencing sexual attraction very easily. I read a definition and thought "That sounds exactly like me...".

I started to think about how I've acted over the last few years compared to others around me. Being in a secondary school full of other teenagers who are just experiencing their first feelings of sexual desire, you would have thought that I would have had some of that too? But, nope. I've never been interested in sex.

A few examples, in philosophy class a few weeks back our teacher said "Looking at the human body and human lifestyle, you could say that as humans our only purpose is to reproduce"

And I thought "What if I don't want to do that? Is it a problem if I don't want to have sex and reproduce?" And this actually upset me quite a lot, and I'm still mulling that one over even now. I also feel extremely uncomfortable when someone asks me a sexual question, and it's not just a bit embarrassed. I mean that I hate talking or thinking about sexual things in too much detail. Sex scenes in books make me feel uncomfortable, and I'll often skip a few pages when I come across anything sexually explicit. Just the thought of sex repulses me. Having sex isn't an experience I want to have.

I've tried talking to people, but they've just said that I "Haven't met the right person" Or that "In a few years you'll feel differently"