Coming out...

So, I'm a freshman in college and it took this past semester to figure out that I was asexual. Before then, I would talk about crushes and my "ideal guy" with my mom. Now I think I might be lithromantic in addition to being asexual. The last time I talked to my family on the phone, they asked if I'd met any more guys...and I said I was kind of done with them in an awkward way that made my mom ask if something happened. And I said not really, in an even more confusing way. I'm afraid she thinks I mean something bad happened...I'm coming back home for break in two weeks and I have no idea if they're going to confront me about it or if I'll end up in another kind of awkward situation (certain situations have become more awkward since I've known I was asexual). Just saying that I haven't met anyone or that I'm done with guys makes me blush and feel anxious, because I'm not telling the whole truth. I don't know if I should come out to them or just hold off until I've been without a boyfriend for so long that they ask if I'm not straight. Thing is, I don't really see my family much anymore...should I just not bother coming out? Mehh...I guess my question is, what's any advice or personal experience you can offer? Thanks! :blink::cake:

WearingItLikeArmor

I haven't yet come out to my parents, and I don't plan to come out anytime in the future. I don't think that they would believe me or understand if I told them I am ace, so it's not really worth it to bother. Plus, I identify as demisexual, so on the off chance if I do actually end up with a guy then I don't have to explain anything. If I end up not being with anyone when I'm older, which I think is most likely, I'll just push off explaining why I'm not with anyone for as long as I can.