lgbtqA

Is there anyone else here who does NOT consider themselves to be on the LGBTQA spectrum? I am still new to all this and have been looking for resources in my area, but all I can find it resources for LGBT. Ace is as different from LGBT as it is from heterosexual so this is not really helpful to me or something I identify with. Is this common?

I really don't feel that I rightfully fall under this umbrella, but I've only come out to one person. That might all change once I do and my social network at large starts pointing fingers at me. Not necessarily in a hostile way, but more in a definitive way. Word on the wire is that we are the purple-headed stepchild of LGBTQIA. During Pride parades, we don't get a float, but more like a Radio Flyer wagon. LOL. Anyway, I guess I'll just have to see what the future holds.

My universitys LBQ . . . I'm not even going to try. Has been very open to me, but I do not feel like we fall there (I was just making sure they weren't already doing something for awareness week and they were very nice about it). Mind you, my feeling of fitting in here is more implicit than explicit, because I'm actually interacting with this community. If I wasn't, I wouldn't think I fit in here either. So, maybe we don't fit in their but should?

butterflydreams

It's cute that we get a letter, but I don't particularly feel as though I'm under that umbrella. Though I would be quite miffed if those who were under it didn't respect and attempt to understand me. In my experience, people who identify as under that umbrella are respectful. They may be different, but at least they should be able to understand our experience.