Writer's block... need life experience to write about?

Amatista

I've had writer's block for a long time. :( I want to do NaNoWriMo or at least write a story. I can't write is because nothing comes to mind. My writing is normally dark and it talks about serious topics like humanity and society and such, but I already wrote about every topic I can think of. I realized recently that the reason I have trouble writing poetry and stories is because I have no real life experience.

I mean, I have never been to any real parties, never met anyone unbelievably interesting or life changing, never did anything crazy, don't even have many friends. I go to community college and come home then go online all day, that's it. My life is no Looking for Alaska. The most that's ever really happened to me is getting bullied in middle school, but I can only write so much about that. :mellow:

How do I get the kinds of experiences that people would write about? And what kinds of experiences would they be?

Use your imagination? Or watch movies, or read books, put yourself in the characters' shoes. I'm a writer with...pretty much the same life you have(community college student, spends all day online, with few friends), but I little trouble doing a lot of writing. I may not have that kind of life experience, but I can always imagine what it would be like if I want. You don't need personal experience to write about something. I've never been stabbed before, but does that stop me from putting a dagger into my characters? No. No it doesn't.

Also, just relax. Writing doesn't work out so well if you're stressed. And you can't force yourself to get inspired; believe me, I've tried.

And about NaNoWriMo...You don't have to participate this year if you're not ready; I'm not. Take the next year to prepare, think about what you're going to write, make your characters, choose a story. Next year will be here before you know it. ^-^

Stained Glass

I was hoping to also do NaNoWriMo as well! :lol: