Should We Be "Proud" Of Being Asexual?

Contrarian Expatriate

Contrarian Expatriate

I am still relatively new to knowing that I am asexual; it has been less than a year. Yesterday I had a disturbing interaction with a girl at a club. She was obviously flirting with me, which is fine, but I was not interested in her. I mentioned, "I think you are attractive and if I were into girls, I would like you very much."

She lit up and asked if I was gay. I told her I was not, but that I was asexual. She was vaguely familiar with the term and I clarified by stating that I have no attraction for men, and only non-sexual attraction for women. She said she was actually bisexual but more oriented towards women (ironically enough).

Towards the end of the conversation she was adament that I should be "proud," because that is who I am. I disagreed with her because as a matter of principle, I only draw pride from things I accomplish, not things I was simply born with. I emphasized that while I am in no way ashamed of being asexual, I am not proud of it either. It is just an element of my personal make-up. This seemed to irk her to no end and she lectured me that I must be proud of it and that it is who I am and bla, bla, bla.

The LGBT culture obviously has this "pride" ethic which I fully understand as a counterbalance to the social dirision and condemnation of LGBT folks over the years. It is similar to the Black Is Beautiful movement in the 70's which came out of years of black subjugation.

However, asexuals are different IMO. We are NOT part of the LGBT rubric (much to the chagrin of some asexuals) and many of us are asexual in a matter-of-fact sort of way. There is no indoctrination, no prideful slogans, this is just our sexual orientation or lack of one.