How Do Open Relationships Work?

marblemicros

The girl that I'm in love with, and whom loves me, wants an open relationship because she doesn'tl ike feeling tied down and prefers "no-strings-attached" sort of things. I've never done it before, and I'm not sure yet how it appeals to me, but for her sake I wanted to try it. She's asexual, and I'm not. And from what I've tried reading everywhere else, it always seems as if the asexual is doing it for the other partner so that they can go and fill in on their sexual needs and stuff. That's not the case here. She wants the open relationship and I have no desire to go off and sex someone, so what can I expect from that? How do asexuals have open relationships? Like, is she open to having, developing, and/or allowing feelings for others to emerge? Am I to expect her to be able to fall in love with someone else, while being in love with me? Or does that turn into polyamory?

I'm not quite sure what to expect at all, and a little puzzled at the whole thing, so if someone could help, it'd be great. If I didn't explain well enough, say so, so that I may be able to word my thoughts differently. Either way, thank you in advance.

Notte stellata

Open relationships can be sexually and/or emotionally open. If it's emotionally open, it overlaps with polyamory. Since she's an asexual who desires an open relationship, she most likely wants the emotional openness, although I'm a bit confused at the "no-strings-attached" part as NSA usually means lack of emotional connection. Anyway, it's best to ask her what she expects from an open relationship, because there are many variables in open relationships, like the level of emotional involvement, level of disclosure, primary/secondary roles (or lack thereof), living arrangement, etc.

Touchofinsight