mum of an asexual

katmaiden

I noticed in previous posts that not many parents use your forum. I am a mum of an asexual and maybe we dont want to intrude or feel our children would not like to read posts from their parents. However as a parent I feel I need to understand my child and support them. It is alien to me as a heterosexual to think that my child is asexual as I have no experience in it with any other family member. I worry that my child will be alone and miss out on the love and support a relationship can give them. I was very introverted as a child and it wasn't until I met my husband that I felt happy with myself and started to spread my wings. Please help me understand and support my child

Asexy Dragon

Hi! Your child can still recieve and give love just like any other person, don't worry. Asexuals can still feel romantic attraction (unless they're aromantic). Your child can still fall in love. I hope they find someone who will respect their sexuality, and love them regardless. Your child might also comply to sex to please their partner. I hope he/she is happy with their sexuality. And don't worry about him/her/them. They will be fine.

My mother had - has - the same worries. Honestly, the best thing you can do as mother is just give your child all your love and support you can. Try not to see it as a problem, or a phase. Instead, try and see it as a positive thing, something to celebrate. I can say that discovering my asexuality was the best day of my life.

It may be that your child will have trouble figuring out their full identity, what they want out of love and relationships and life. This is normal, and it can take some time. I think that if your child knows that you will listen to them and how they're feeling, they'll be far more likely to want to open up to you

And I might just add that I very much respect the effort you're taking :)

Ace of Cakes