When did you first come to indentify with asexuality????

Brenya

i am a newbie here.........a very very newbie to asexuality.

(see "first encouter" post )

just curious what people's experiences have been. have you identified with asexuality your whole life? or did it come about later?

cuz i am way confused as to where i am here.

Bren

I'm new, too. I'm not even sure if I'm asexual or not, but being that heterosexual and homosexual and everything in-between don't seem to fit, I guess it is close enough for now. But I don't know if I've ever "identified" myself as being asexual.

That said, the desire for romantic relationships has never been there. I've had one relationship which would look like a romantic relationship from the outside. But in that relationship, as a 9th and 10th grader (15/16 years old), the girl initiated everything and I simply went along because it didn't take any effort. I wasn't attracted to her (now I see how awful it was that I let her think that I could be attracted to her and that I was seeking what she was seeking). Even sexual contact was basically initiated by her, and, near the end of the relationship (after about 3 years of "going out"), she was the one who was talking about actually "doing it". So it isn't a typical romance. I've never had that desire to find someone, and don't think it is just a matter of finding the right person. I think I am my own "right person", and that I am one of the few who can be happy with that. I've never looked at someone and said, "I would like to go out with her/him, I would like to marry her, or, anything else."

I feel sexual arrousal, but it isn't desire for someone else, it is simply physical urges (which I really could deal without - I feel "trapped" in this sexual body). So I don't really see myself as being sexual with someone else. It doesn't "do" anything for me. It doesn't make me happier, it doesn't "complete" me, it doesn't satisfy a life-long desire.