Affection

Shoomon

Hi, everyone! I'm fairly new to AVEN and was wondering how all of you felt about giving/receiving affection. Would you rather take part in romantic/sensual/sexual activities or affection, or would you rather it be given to you but not return it?

For me it varies, sometimes multiple times a day. There are times when I feel in a very cuddly mood and would love to be affectionate toward someone. And then there are times, (and I find this mostly with my boyfriend) that I would much rather him be affectionate and I can detach myself from it.

So I was wondering where everyone fell on this and what your thoughts were!

I am a weird case on affection. I am sensually-repulsed in some ways, mostly because of bad instances in my past, but other ways are fine. Hand holding is fine, leaning on my boyfriend is fine, and wrestling playfully is fine as long as I don't get too close.

But I see where you're coming from on the letting

him be affectionate and I can detach myself from it.

because I do let myself be more affectionate because I know he is. But I still have boundaries of what I'm okay with. And they aren't because of fear for anything sexual, because he's ace too.

Though I must admit, when I'm feeling blue or my back really hurts I crave affection like none other. All I want to do is lie down and hold his hand or snuggle with a friend. But that's the only time I really crave it. Mostly my attitude is just "oh, its nice, but I don't really need it."

Touching, cuddling, caressing, kissing (varies person to person though)....except sex. That's what defines us asexuals here

Romantic/sensual/affection all fall together for me. I am fine both giving and receiving. I might not mind giving sexually, but definitely not receiving and conditional as to how my partner viewed me gender wise (and on my terms, to add one more "rule").

littleheartsofjoy