Innocence of Touch

astrobean

Title: The Innocence of Touch

Author: astrobean

Summary: A few thoughts on how the meaning of touch changes with sexual maturity, and how asexuals can be left behind. Comments welcome.

Word Count: 700

Cross-posted from: http://3sigmaanomaly.livejournal.com/2712.html (feel free to leave comments there too)

*~*

PART 1: Love Languages

My brain whirrs at a mile a minute, and it never settles down. As a writer, I am constantly narrating the lives of my characters (or dramatizing my own experiences, or imagining interviews with famous people). The best way for me to fall asleep at night is to take whatever character I’m narrating, send them some place quiet, and let them fall asleep. Ninety-nine times out of a hundred, that character is snuggled with someone who makes them feel safe. My love language is touch.

In Gary Chapman’s book “The Five Love Languages,” he puts forth a theory that people express love in one of five ways: touch, gift-giving, encouraging words, quality time, and acts of service. I can see how this is true when I watch my sister and her husband. Her love language is acts of service and his is quality time. She feels loved when he randomly finishes some of her chores; he feels loved when she hangs the chores and just sits with him and talks for awhile. In general, we use them all the languages, but there are certain times when we are stressed or in need, and it becomes important that the other person use our own language, because we will not interpret anything else as love.

I have a propensity for writing characters whose love languages are touch. I have studied people and their love languages and learned that not everyone is as comforted by a hug as I am. Touch means different things to different people. It doesn’t carry a universally standard weight.

*~*

PART 2: Childlike Innocence